June 20, 2024 June 20, 2024

Badgers on the brink of elimination

Posted on February 25, 2014 by Shaunavon Standard

The Leader Flyers bested the Shaunavon Badgers 10-3 on Friday night to grab a two games to one lead in their best-of-five Whitemud Hockey League semi-final series.

The Flyers enjoyed period margins of 3-0 and 8-2. Adam Antkowiak sniped four goals to propel the Flyers’ attack. Jerrid Sauer cashed in two goals and a trio of assists while Jay Hern chipped in a goal and four assists. Colton Wagman, Carman Ressler and Rob Parkinson added the other markers. Aaron Krein collected three assists while Cody Todd and Ben Sinclair had two apiece. Bryton Deis and Carman Ressler picked up the others. Cody Tetrault paced the Badgers with a goal and two assists for a three point outing. Evan Schafer and Tanner Tetrault were the other Badger marksmen. Playing coach Trevor Aadland picked up two assists while Rod Thienes was credited with a solo helper. Donald Schmaltz (Flyers) and Jamie Poppy (Badgers) guarded the twine for their respective teams. Referees Darren Holeha and Joel Franz issued five of the seven penalties to the Badgers. The Shaunavon Badgers knocked off the Leader Flyers 7-4 during a penalty-filled playoff game on Wednesday night at the CPWC. The period counts were 3-2 and 6-3 for the home side. The victory knotted the semi-final round at one game apiece. Todd Hornung sniped a power play at 4:08 of the first period to get the ball rolling. The other Badger goals came off the sticks of Trevor Aadland, Evan Schafer, Cody Tetrault, Tyler Mosquito, Quintin Cairns and Jordi Thomas. D-man Evan Schafer and Todd Hornung were credited with two assists apiece. Landon Balas, Cory Verpy, Trevor Aadland, Quintin Cairns, Carter Nicolson, Tyler Mosquito and Jordi Thomas picked up the other helpers. Jerrid Sauer notched one goal and an assist to pace the Flyers. Dallas Jorgenson, Tyler Sadler and Cody Todd also lit the red lamp for the visitors. Adam Antkowiak, Jay Hern, Colton Wagman and Cody Marshall collected the assists for the Flyers. Jamie Poppy earned the win and was steady between the pipes for the Badgers. Donald Schmaltz was tagged with the loss in the Flyers’ net. Referees Lindsay Miyashiro and Darwin Seidler of Swift Current called nine minor penalties and two-10 minute misconducts to each squad.

Leave a Reply

Get More The Shaunavon Standard
Log In To Comment Latest Paper Subscribe